How Do You Define Luxury?

I remember when I was growing up in my hometown of Tifton Georgia and my parents would allow us to “eat out” at a local restaurant instead of meals made from our garden – I thought that was luxury. In my young mind, the pinnacle of Luxury was when my family of seven would pile into our car and drive to Panama City Beach, Florida and stay at the Holiday Inn. It was so much fun and I actually thought we were rich and living “high on the hog”. We would get two connecting rooms and my Mom would stuff a cooler with homemade bologna, tuna, and pimento cheese sandwiches along with off-brand sodas and chips for our lazy days on the beach. Funny, how I never correlated that this was a way to save money for a large family. To me…we didn’t have to waste time leaving the sun and sand of the beach. It makes me smile to think how simple it was to define luxury back then.

Fast forward to 2023 and now I have decided to define Luxury in my own terms. Like taking a random day in the middle of the week and “spoiling myself” with a massage and a lunch date with myself. Splurging on my favorite body Oil by Osea, that may cost a little more but oh so worth it -like this oil is so luxurious and amazing. Waking up at 9:00 AM and having a specialty cup of coffee with a good book, is luxury at it’s finest.

What I have come to learn is that luxury is a state of mind. If the state of Luxury is only measured by how much money you have in your bank account or the number of social media followers you may have – unfortunately many of us would not be able to create our own standard of luxury.

Cheers to 2023 and all of the Luxury that I will incorporate into my days.

What are somethings or moments that you consider Luxury in your life?

Leave a comment